Here are some important things to remember about Announcements:
All Announcements in Blackboard will be emailed to your students. If you check the box, “Send this announcement immediately,” the announcement is sent to students’ @sandiego.edu addresses right after you hit send.
However, if you choose this option the Announcement is sent from email@example.com. Students are warned in the email that “This is a system notification sent based on your personal settings and should not be replied to. Click here to view and edit your Notification Settings” …but not everyone reads this. So your students might try to reply to the sender, but will get a bounceback.
If you do not check the box, “Send this announcement immediately,” the announcement is emailed with the Instructor’s @sandiego.edu address as the sender.
Emails will go out within the day anyway if you don’t check “Send this announcement immediately.”